Wakefield Press is an independent book publishing company based in Adelaide, South Australia.


Follow us on Twitter

Invisible Mending

Mike Ladd, Cathy Brooks

Invisible Mending
Mike Ladd's new collection, Invisible Mending ranges across genres including essay, memoir, short story and poetry. Based loosely on the ideas of scarring and healing, Invisible Mending extends from family intimacies to connection and disconnection in the Australian community, environmental damage and repair. It also has an international view. Parts of it were written at an artist's residency in Malaysia and while travelling through South America.

Individual works have appeared in both the Best Australian Stories and Best Australian Poems series, leading Australian newspapers and magazines, and publications in the UK and USA. Barry Hill has described Mike Ladd's writing as ‘flinty, visionary poetry’.

Praise for Invisible Mending:
'His regard for the dignity of human beings, animals and the planet we share seems to me to be a salve for a very broken world, and his words are indeed a kind of invisible mending.' - Tegan Gigante, Program Manager for the Castlemaine Poetry Festival

'Stark and confronting images.' - Nathanael Pree, Australian Book Review

'[Mike's] stories about his time living in Malaysia and Borneo convey the atmosphere of the tropics and an exceptional understanding of local life and aspirations. It is a very readable and appealing collection.' - Elaine Fry, The West Australian

'An outstanding book, rich in every way, from its sometimes poignant subject matter, in particular Mike's pieces on his father, to the mediums they’re expressed in ... Every page holds treasure.' - J.V. Birch

'All the work in Invisible Mending is unified both by Ladd’s aesthetic curiosity and his political temperament. The poems are quick to pick up anomalies or hypocrisies ... These are full-blooded but subtle protests in the tradition of Brecht and Neruda.' - Geoff Page, Cordite Poetry Review

'I was left feeling that this author has a great affection for the world, despite being disappointed and sometimes distraught by the behaviour of people ... Most readers will find something they enjoy in this eclectic book.' - Rob Welsh, ReadPlus

'If there's a better poet in Adelaide, I don't know them.' - Peter Goers, ABC 891 Evenings

'Invisible Mending is brilliant.' - Jane Lomax-Smith

At the age of seventeen, Mike Ladd began reading his poetry at Adelaide's renowned Friendly Street and his poems started appearing in local and national publications. His first book The Crack in the Crib was published in 1984 followed by eight collections of poetry and prose.

Mike was the editor of ABC Radio National's highly respected Poetica, which ran for eighteen years. He currently works for Radio National's features and documentary unit, and he and his partner Cathy Brooks have been running projects that put poems on street signs as public art. Mike is a poetry mentor, judge, and also a reviewer for the Sydney Morning Herald. Over the past two decades he has given poetry workshops and masterclasses in every state and territory of Australia.

Listen to Mike's interview with Emily Sutherland on 5MBS here.

View an extract

Also available

Details
Category Literature - Poetry
Format Paperback
Size 210 x 135 mm
ISBN 9781743054079
Extent 136 pages
Price: AU$22.95 including GST
Options
Quantity
Add to wish list