Wakefield Press is an independent book publishing company based in Adelaide, South Australia.

Follow us on Twitter

Eight Seasons

Our family's journey with childhood leukaemia

Sandra Evans

Eight Seasons
When you face your child's mortality you learn a lot about people and about life ...

Tahlia is four when she is diagnosed with acute lymphoblastic leukaemia, a rapidly progressing form of childhood cancer. Her life is irrevocably changed, and her family is confronted with the many difficult challenges associated with childhood leukaemia.

This is a powerful and honest story, told through the eyes of a mother, about a little girl’s strength and courage. This journey not only leaves the family with a new perspective of what life is about, but is an inspiration to all who come across it.

This book is written by a mother who has experienced all of the highs and lows of dealing with childhood leukaemia. It conveys a realistic, encouraging and hopeful message to others coping with the demands of treatment for paediatric acute lymphoblastic leukaemia. It is an important resource for families with a child with leukaemia and the health professionals who care for them. – Barbara Hartigan, Director Support Services, Leukaemia Foundation of Queensland

Having access to good information is crucial for families and carers of children undergoing treatment for cancer … This book has the information and insights, delivered in an honest account, to make the difference for families coping with childhood leukaemia. – Dr Marie-Therese Proctor, Psychologist and Researcher, The Children’s Hospital at Westmead

Sandra Evans is a Queensland-based psychologist and the mother of Tahlia, who is featured in Eight Seasons. This is her first book.
Category Body/Mind/Spirit
Format Paperback
Size 210 x 148 mm
ISBN 9781743054703
Extent 184 pages
Price: AU$29.95 including GST
Add to wish list